The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

1300$ Head Rebuild budget

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

awzer2

10+ Year Contributor
Nov 4, 2009
palm desert, California
Well, the stock head gasket blew on my 1990 near mint condition Gsx.
I have 1300 set aside for a head rebuild.
I wanted to buy arps, stage 3 "Bc" cams,skunk 2 gears a greddy belt, get it ported,milled and jet washed. would this be within my budget?
What would be some things you guys would buy?
What would you do in this case?
I have rebuilt heads before but, installed stock parts.
I'm new to internal modification.

I have heard that i should get a 2g head also.

Ide stay away from the BC cams, they are nothing but problems. If interested I have ALOT of spare head parts, some new, some lightly used. Right now im looking to sell a complete set of 3g reviesed lifters, Topline rockers ( both used for one season ) I also have a brand new set of SI brand valves. ( these are the black nitrite coated ones, im not sure if im spelling that correctly though ) - i also have a modified 2g head lying around if you want to do that swap ( its ported, with real crowler valves, and real crowler springs / retainers - but it needs valve stem seals... ) PM me if your interested.

If you want to run a 2g head, you should give it a good port as the 1g head does flow more but the 2g head has a better intake design.

yeah definitely, i need some suggestions on parts that would fall into my budget.

Why are you posting in a newbie forum?