1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

Nys emissions and maybe other states

Posted by Jay_gst97, Aug 15, 2019

Tags:
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Morrison Fabrication
  1. Jay_gst97

Jay_gst97 Probationary Member

Joined Aug 15, 2019
    Ellenville, New York
    Hey guys I'm new to the forums but I been searching here for the last few weeks to figure out some problems I was having with my 97 gst not being able to get the monitors ready for inspection.
    So j live in NY which most of u know is hell for our emissions inspection.
    I have been a licensed inspector for years and could not understand at first why my car would not ready up 5 monitors.
    So long story short I just wanted to do this write to hopefully help or clear some things up for some of the other newer dsm guys
    First off I checked fuses,relays and then continued to check the 2 main power supplys at the ecu and then checked the back up power to make sure it was 12v even with the key off I recommend doin this first incase u have lost power somewhere wasn't my problem. I did replace my alternator because of low voltage at the ecu which now is fixed .ok so I drove 1600 miles and still no cel and no monitors were complete I drove to my job plugged it into the nys inspection machine and it passed with flying colors so I want to let u guys in NY know the inspection machine is updated for these year cars and it will pass as long as u have no cel regardless of the readiness monitors figured it be some good info for someone thanks

Street Build 164  1

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GST
    fwd · manual · 2G DSM