The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

2G Fluid barely coming out while bleeding (URGENT)

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MeteorBurn

Proven Member
Jan 9, 2016
Columbia, Maryland
Hello all,

I just finished up replacing rear drums, shoes, hardware and both wheel cylinders in my 1998 RS eclipse. I found one of the wheel cylinders was leaking badly, which is why I replaced both. Everything went well, except the bleeding. I've never done bleeding before, but I have done my fair share of auto repair on the family cars so I thought I was up to it.

I did the one person method, in which a clear hose was submerged in a container of clean brake fluid, and connected to the bleeder nipple. When I open the bleeder, barely any fluid goes comes out. I start opening it more, then the bleeder starts leaking at the threads. Is this normal? Even so, once I managed to loosen it just enough that it won't leak out of the threads but fluid starts coming out of nipple, when I go to pump the brakes, the fluid barely moves through the tube.

When I watch videos of people bleeding the brakes, the moment they press the brake pedal, fluid rapidly travels through the hose. I've been trying all day and I can't seem to get the fluid to go anymore then halfway through the hose. The hose is higher than the bleeder nipple. This was on the passenger rear wheel.