The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

My machinist didn't torque plate my block!!!!!!!!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

renogsx

15+ Year Contributor
Nov 11, 2005
Reno, Nevada
I have a 2.4 split thrust o-ringed align honed magnafluxed cleaned not torque honed .5mm over boat anchor is how I feel right now WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anybody have a fresh split thrust 2.4 7bolt in Reno tahoe sac?

There are a lot of people that will tell you that it is necessary to torque plate hone the block, but i've been building them for 15 years without using one. I have yet to have a compression issue. There are literally thousands of these that are built without it. Even from the factory they aren't honed with a torque plate.

There are a lot of people that will tell you that it is necessary to torque plate hone the block, but i've been building them for 15 years without using one. I have yet to have a compression issue. There are literally thousands of these that are built without it. Even from the factory they aren't honed with a torque plate.

x2. OP, if you feel you have a boat anchor, you can give it to me. I've built and ran many of them with no ill effects. IMHO, Torque Plating is only absolutely necessary for max effort engines.

The only reason tq plate honing is used is to take into account the flexing and stresses caused by torquing the head down. The 4g engines do not flex enough by design to require this procedure.I have personally made over 600 awhp reliably without tq plate honing. Put that beast together and enjoy.