The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

August578

Proven Member
Jun 15, 2021
Eastvale, California
Hi, I’ve never done power steering before and not too familiar on how it works. It decided to go out on me and lose all of its fluids. I’m not entirely sure on how to diagnose it either.

I’m not sure where the leak is but I think it might from inside the inner tie rod boot. Or this big nut. Any suggestions or pointing me into the right direction would be helpful. I can also get more pictures if needed

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

If you've lost all fluids at the rack I am going to say rack has to come out. It isn't a fun job but doable with one person.
Some things to consider are location of steering wheel etc. There are some specific instructions for this.

Consult the factory manual for specifics.

I don't know what the core charge is but I wish I had just kept my core and rebuilt it at my leisure rather than give it up. The rebuild kits aren't too high. More work than I wanted to do at the time but good for a lazy saturday project.

Honestly that leak doesn't look too bad. If it spewed all the fluid through the rack you would be seeing a lot more 'wet' fluid in the area. Squish the bellows boot by hand and see if it is full of fluid. If it is then your inner rack seal went bad and the rack needs a rebuild. If not, I'm guessing it's leaking just a little bit but not so much it won't work.