1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

Center Diff Options?

Posted by Th3ory, Mar 10, 2019

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
  1. Th3ory

Th3ory Proven Member

Joined Aug 6, 2015
    Centralia, Washington
    First off, I am admitting I have very little drivetrain knowledge. So please be patient if my questions :)

Questions or input needed:

I have a 98 gsx, 350bhp,300 torque and running a ACT2600. Nothing impressive, however I just discovered 2step a few weeks ago, when using 2step off the line, I have a nagging feeling I am on borrowed time with the center diff/trans/axles...

I have only launched the car a handful of times (practicing on an old abandoned road). The 2step is set around 4500rpms, the FP Green I am running builds about 10psi, and I feather the clutch out. I will never dump the clutch, just feather it, and the car hooks and pulls like I have never felt before. I can feel the car want to break all 4 tires loose, so I back off in fear of damaging the drivetrain.

I have since been trying to research the weak points of the 2g drivetrain and found most say its the Center Diff, I read through a good amount of information, however most the threads are from 6 to 8 years ago. After reading, I came to the conclusion that I wanted the strongest Center Diff I can get without welding it. I found a lot of people used to run a 4 spider center diff from Speed Design, however I cant seem to find there site, I am not not even sure they are still in business?

I also found this: https://www.tmzperformance.com/shop/custom-4-spider-hardened-chromoly-cross-shaft-for-1990-1999-dsm/