The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Rix Racing

2G AWD transmission for a 2G FWD

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andreb

Probationary Member
Mar 1, 2018
malta, Europe
Hi,

I am new to this and really appreciate the help of guys who did the swap.
have a 2G Eclipse and building it for drag racing looking at 800+ bhp. I am buying a PPG gear set and an AWD transmission to put it in. Can you please help figure out the below:

1. What Axles should I be after? FWD shafts?
  2. What LSD Spool should I be after?
  3. What other parts should I be considering I think starter, flywheel...
Uploaded some images of my setup

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20200501_170219.jpg
    IMG_20200501_170219.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 123
  • IMG_20200411_185922.jpg
    IMG_20200411_185922.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 117
  • IMG_20200411_185922.jpg
    IMG_20200411_185922.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 107
Car is FWD, going for an AWD transmission to fit the ppg gearset and stronger case. Car will remain FWD

Just need a VCE or welded center diff, then you can use equal length half shafts from an AWD in the front.
Can also remove the t-case output shaft and plug its hole as explained in Bobby's link.

Could also add in an LSD for the front diff to maximize traction. Just be sure to get the AWD front diff version, as the FWD versions are 27 spline and will not work with the AWD axles.

We ran an AWD transmission in our FWD Time Attack car, and it all works just fine.

FWD LSD, FWD Axle seals, FWD Axles and some machining to make it fit. Welded center dif in one of our transmissions, and a Spool in another. I also built a support plate to help keep the case rigidity and from cracking.