The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

7 bolt engine with 1g head....

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Miller

Proven Member
Jan 27, 2020
Watertown, Wisconsin
Hello my fellow dsm enthusiasts!!

I have ran into a bit of an issue, but not a huge one... First I am new to the dsm world and am currently working on my first 2g elipse gst. I build an engine and put it in the car, however I somehow managed to totally not notice I used a 1g head on a 7bolt short block... I know this swap has been done before, but I'm not sure what I'm gonna need to finish it or if that is even possible. So what all do I need to do to have a running 7 bolt with a 1g head? Please remember I'm a newbie so simple language :)

Not sure why anyone would want to do this. The 7-bolt has the weaker bottom end but better cylinder head for low-power setups. Just stick to pure 7-bolt for simplicity.

You can do that but it would require some extra parts and works. So the easiest way is you use a 2g 7 bolt head as @Canadian_CD9A mentioned above.
As @delta448 mentioned above, you would use a 1G intake manifold and relocate some accessories such as the coil pack and the PTU, and you can't mount the MDP sensor on 1g intake manifold so you would need to deal with it, too. cancel or use an adapter etc. Also you need to deal with the thermostat housing/water pipe and rerouting the radiator hoses.