The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX knock/rattle?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caseyrobinett_2011

Proven Member
Mar 4, 2016
Crestline, Ohio
I just purchased a 97 GSX with 120k on body and around 10k on engine rebuild. I paid very little for the car because the guy who sold it said he was hearing some kind of strange knock sound? So when i went to check it out it didn't sound like a rod knock or anything very threatening but at the same time i was not sure on what it was so i went ahead and took a big gamble and bought it. I am new to the 4 cylinder turbo and AWD world i grew up building drag cars with my dad and went to school for automotive and decided i wanted to try something a little different so i did. This is the car i ended up getting, my goal was to buy and evo but with just having my first child and buying my first house i had to settle for something a little cheaper but in a sense the gsx is almost the same as the evo so im happy. Now to my problem with the rattling noise i took apart the head to make sure the cam was fine all rockers and so on were in good shape and they were in great shape so it puzzled me a little until i went underneath the car. I found that the balance shaft pulley was in very bad shape the nut that holds the pulley its self on is missing there is a very noticeable chunk missing out of the pulley and about 6 teeth that the belt rides in is missing also. Would this be a possible cause of the rattling noise im hearing?

Attachments

• 20160301_182853_resized.jpg
    20160301_182853_resized.jpg
    273.8 KB · Views: 206
  • 00U0U_cWdTN8W62vT_600x450.jpg