The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support ExtremePSI

Where Do You Supply Your Tools From?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snap-on for the most part but thats bc I do this for a living as well. If you're just a weekend warrior I'd goto lowes and buy some kobalt or craftsman wrenches and sockets. Then goto harbor freight for breaker bars, dead blow hammers the stuff you can't get at lowes.

also the reason I say don't buy sockets and wrenches from harbor freight is that the wrenchs spread apart easy and the sockets snap. No one likes busted knuckles.

Last edited by a moderator:
It's all personal preference. However I agree with @Hickory-NC-2Ggsx to avoid sockets/wrenches from Harbor Freight. They're a great choice for anything that loose tolerances won't cause an issue (hammers, breaker bars, even their ratchets aren't too bad).

If you have the money, go for the same brands that have traveling storefronts that visit auto shops: Snap-on, Matco, Mac, Cornwell, etc. Just know that you WILL pay a premium for those brands.

Harbor freight impact sockets in my toolbox have been going 15 years strong now. I don't mind their other tools for an emergency, keep-in-the-car, situations.
For the most part, I have been in the mindset of buy the cheap tool. If it doesn't perform, buy the expensive one.
Most of my toolbox is GearWrench for hand tools, and Milwaukee for power tools. I rarely use air tools anymore, but when I do, it's my Ingersoll Titanium Max 1/2" impact.

I only own one snap-on tool and it is a 1/2" torque wrench for lug nuts. I got used to using them at work, and so I got one for my garage. Otherwise, I stay away from them.