The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

Turbo - what's a better buy?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsm-onster

DSM Wiseman
Jul 11, 2004
Bloxom, Virginia
Gamble97 said:
basically why I want to rev to 9k safely is because if i miss a gear or accidently some shit happens and it over revs I dont want to have to worry about it too much.
I'm still new to the turbo thing and I don't which would be my best choice. A friend of mine has a 20g on his evo that he is thinking about selling.
Also i have dsm link on order. I have a full 3" exhaust, and arp head studs, fp1 intake and fp2 exhaust cam. I was acutally looking for a a supra side mount intercooler for the time being, until the motor is done.

But you said you wanted a shep tranny to shift to 9K for fun. you didn't say anything about building for an accidental overrev.:confused: No biggie. IMHO, a shep or tre tranny becomes more and more a neccesity as you start progressing from the 350 whp point. This just my opinion. but being that so many of us have dropped perfectly good trannies at this hp level, then I don't think the shep tranny is a bad buy. However, There are quite a few who havenot had a problem with the tranny. And, if you do junk one, then another JY stocker is just a couple hundred dollars away...

There's nothing wrong with overbuilding. But Andy is right. It seams that a 20g is your best choice. Or for a little more potential a 50trim. Stick w/ his list. I say get the shep tranny when and if you pop your stocker.

I have a choice right now between 2 turbos.
first one is
Mitsubishi BIG 16G turbo ported to 7 cm hole and clipped
has 15k miles

$400

or a brand new