The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Rix Racing

420A Replacement 420A or Evo 8/3G Eclipse 4G64 SOHC swap?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoostJunkie17

Probationary Member
Dec 19, 2021
Dallas, Texas
Hey brothers! I am still new to the DSM world and I will admit I'm not too keen on most of the stuff these cars are capable of or as in tune with all the things you can do with these mechanically since I'm more of a 3G Eclipse 6G7X guy and I have more knowledge on the V6 SOHC 24V cars as I own 2 of them, one a 3.0L 5 Speed and one a 3.5L 5 speed Diamante swap, but I also have a knocking 420A 5 speed as well that I'm letting sit since after 3 days from buying it and driving to work, it started knocking and I'm going to bring it back this summer after my 2 3G's are up and running again as they're both going to be retuned and finished by mid next month. I am also just going to throw out the bad engine and put in a new one since I think it just would be far better to start fresh with a much better maintained engine than the 420A sitting in my car right now no matter which route I choose but I thought to consult the experts before I make a decision and pull the trigger since I'll have some time