The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support ExtremePSI

New to me: 98 GS Spyder (4G64 Manual) Clutch no-start sensor? (and more)

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeAutomotiveMayhem

Probationary Member
Jan 25, 2024
Richmond, BC_Canada
Hey Guys, Its January 25th, 2024. And yesterday I have fulfilled a childhood dream of buying a 2G eclipse.
Info about me and the car:
-I am in Vancouver BC, Canada
-The car is a 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS Spyder
-4G64/5 Speed Manual
-Stock Car with no mods aside from an aftermarket radio and wheels from a 4g Eclipse
-152,xxx Miles (was imported from USA I suppose?)
-I am new to these cars aswell as tuner culture as I have usually only had American or English cars (Cadillac, Jaguar, Dodge, Land Rover)
-I am 23 yo so fairly new to car things as a whole, and this is why I am seeking info from the pros!!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Issues that I have so far discovered and am looking for help/tips on (In Priority Order)
-I think the clutch-start sensor is bad, I have to push the clutch in AS HARD AS I CAN to get the car to crank and start.

-The top Works perfectly and looks newer! But it does leak right at the windshield corners where the tops meets the body. I understand this could be way worse as some tops leak through?

-The car only warms up to the middle of the temperature Gauge when idling and not moving, Thermostat most likely I assume?

-My airbag light is on, and the previous owner said that it is because my passenger side airbag dash cover pad is warped badly, that this has tripped that sensor. Is that true?