The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

How are my main clearances?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

88BB8B

Proven Member
Oct 14, 2016
Coldstream, BC_Canada
Hey everybody. I'm sure this sort of thing gets asked a lot, but I was needing the advice of some more experienced people since this is my first time rebuilding one of these. So I'll keep it brief.
You must be logged in to view this image or video.

1. 0.0026"
2. 0.00215"
3. 0.0023"
4. 0.0022"
5. 0.0021"

I think they look good for the most part for my goals of 400-450hp. I'm slightly worried about the difference between the 0.0026" and the rest. You guys think it'll run well with 10-40? How could I or should I open up the others a few +0.0001" to match Journal #1?

standard value
.0008-.0020

limit

so your within the limit but outside the standard valve.

you could mix and match bearing shells if you want to tighten up the clearances a little

if opening them up means you have machining equipment, i guess you could install thicker bearings, measure the ID and grind the crank to match the bearings with the proper oil clearance.