The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

What is this smoke? Video

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

horizontalkev

Supporting VIP
Jun 28, 2010
great bend, Kansas
Smells rich, and doesn't look like the normal blown head gasket type of smoke. It comes and goes. And notice the residual smoke after the car shuts off. Whats the problem here?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49GZBjYrMJ4&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I'm no expert but if it smells really rich it could be excess raw fuel in the exhaust. maybe change your plugs and see if it goes away.

The smoke dissapates quickly, it doesn't linger around like smoke from a blown head gasket would, and doesn't smell sweet.. Smells rich. My antifreeze looks fine, and my oil isn't milky colored. Maybe the turbo is sucking in something? There isn't any abnormal shaft play.

Looks kind like your turbo seals might be starting to go out. Check for oil in your intercooler from blow by if u suspect it to be sucking in something. When I got my car It had about a full qt in the stock SMIC.. just a thought

Last edited:
White smoke is water/antifreeze being burnt, black smoke is too much gas (too rich), and blue smoke is oil burning

This is what i always thought.... But was also told unburnt fuel could be a faint white smoke. Thats y i said i wasn't a expert LOL

I will check to see if there is oil in the intercooler tomorrow and get back to you guys..

And I have heard that burning gas could be a faint white smoke aswell but never seen it before so I have no idea