1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

Tuning a stock 420a question.

Posted by Ryan Pappalau, Apr 6, 2020

Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
  1. Ryan Pappalau

Ryan Pappalau Probationary Member

Joined Apr 6, 2020
    Ballston Spa, New York
    New to the car community and am having some troubles. I have a pretty much stock 420a on a 97 rs. It came with stage 2 Brian crower cams in the box still and since I work as a tech I’m able to install them. But what I have no clue how to do is tune the car. Do I need a stand alone? Can I reprogram and tune the stock ecu? I have the timing tag for the cams but still no idea why I’m going to do for a tune. And honestly? Do I even need one? Probably.

609DSM likes this.
  2. silvreclips

silvreclips Proven Member

Joined Jul 19, 2005
    Greenville, South Carolina
    You can't tune the stock ECU. With just a set of cams, you probably won't have to make any changes anyways. What are your long term plans for the car?

A wideband 02 sensor would be a good investment. That will tell you if you need to add additional fueling after the cams.

Autocross Build 559  1

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse N/T
    fwd · manual · 2G DSM
    609DSM likes this.
  3. 609DSM

609DSM Proven Member

Joined Aug 13, 2019
    Langhorne, Pennsylvania
    FWIW the research I did on this topic has been the following:

Upgrade to wideband with a megasquirt system installed and then you can start to tune the 420a.

Withought the megasquirt you are only able to look at your fuel trims and install the proper mods like bigger pump or bigger fuel injectors.