The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

New to DSM's Help me out lol

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mechanix565

10+ Year Contributor
Apr 19, 2009
Pawtucket, Rhode_Island
so ya guys i used to be big into 5.0 mustangs but i jus bought a talon and im hooked. i got a 90 talon tsi 5 speed only thing is its fwd. o well but heres my question im in the process of rebuilding the motor (im a mechanic) and i saw the balance shaft eliminator kits. how much work is involved in doing that and is it worthwhile? secondly i wanna re use the stock pistons because they are in great shape i had the head ported polished and had a valve job done so stock pistons will be fine i think but would a t4 turbo be a good idea? obviously im puttin a good front mount intercooler in it but i wanna run like 10-15 psi will i burn holes in the stock pistons? and what fuel system upgrades do i need to do and what ecu upgrades do i need for 15 psi? any suggestions to how i can get some cheap power would be awesome thanks guys

I would definitely do the balance shaft eliminator to prevent future problems. If you are rebuoilding the motor it shouldnt be that hard just gotta plug up some holes ROFL. T4 seems like a little big and only 15psi doesnt seem like it's going to be too responsive. maybe just a 16g and more boost so thatway you're not lagging so much. And it could net you 300+ to the wheels , with 650 injectors and a few minor upgrades. just my .02

thanks alot im gonna be honest ive neever built a turbo motor before i always used to stick with v8's how much boost can i run through them stock pistons before i burn a hole through them?