1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

turbosax2's Eclipse GSX

Rating:
5/5,
Year:
Model/Trim:
Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
Please Support Morrison Fabrication
  1. turbosax2

turbosax2 Moderator

Joined Nov 19, 2006
    Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
    This thread is going to be for my summer project. My goal is to do maintenance, cleaning, and a few upgrades. The highlight of my project is relocating the fuse box to the interior and rewiring the engine bay. To this point the most technical thing I had done to a car is change a clutch, so I'm still a noob. Most of this is brand new to me and I'm still learning. Tearing down the engine was a great experience and the vfaq's for changing a timing belt and doing a balance shaft elimination make soooo much more sense now. I've done quite a bit of wiring on my brothers car hiding wires in the engine bay, but nothing of this magnitude. Honestly, I'm a bit scared :coy: but I know I'll make it through. So hopefully this thread will be to help any of you who might want to do this.

Let's get you all caught up...

This is my 1999 GSX, purchased bone stock December of last year.

IMG_5175.JPG

interior 005.JPG

interior 001.JPG

She sat under a cover all winter and most of spring. I only drove her once every few weeks.

eric's car 008.jpg

Work began June 1st. My brother has the in-progress shots of us taking out the engine and tearing it down. He's on vacation so I'll post them later.

IMG_5205.JPG

IMG_5412.JPG

IMG_5419.JPG

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2014

3K  24

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX