The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support ExtremePSI

Head Questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluefire16

15+ Year Contributor
Mar 30, 2007
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Hey guys, so im not a total newbie, but its my first time pulling my head. The hg was pretty bad, but ive checked with a straight edge and the head is pretty flat.

Well anyways, what all should i have a machine shop do? Hot tank, clean the head? Resurface if its bad and what else?

Just take it to a machine shop and have him clean it up and check to see if it needs to be resurfaced. It shouldn't cost you more than 80 bucks. I would never put a head back on my own car without having it resurfaced or at least checked, that's just asking for trouble in my opinion.

Though many people have done it and not had a problem, I personally wouldn't do it.

ok to be honest... your gonna have the head off soooo, why not do a bit more to it...... id install fresh new valve stem seals.... followed by the oil port mod.... plus everything you said.... resurface. etc. etc.

Replacing it with a new MLS gasket? What caused it to go? Did you get that issue resolved too? Would suck to get it all back together and have it blow again.

Change tiiming components if they havent and do the valve seals other wise you could have leaky seals, Dont do all that work for it to fail 10 miles after its on the road, do it now and forget about it, especially for a dd. Other wise it wont be a dd it will be a down dsm. Do all of it now just advice fr om someone who learned the hard way.