The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Rix Racing

dsmlink timing jumps

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

green97gstspyder

10+ Year Contributor
Mar 14, 2012
newark, Delaware
I still need to set my base timing but i noticed at idle my timing jumps from anywhere from 6 to 26 degrees. I went to ground timing pin to set base timing and ot wasnt able to idle and flooded out and it took me hours to get running again. Im new to the dsmlink but i know timing isnt supposed to jump like that. I am running a 6 bolt with 90 style cas and hks 272 cams. This head originally had the other style cas would that make a difference?

The car had the 90 style cas but the motor i swapped into the car had the other style cas so i swapped the 90 style cas onto the new motor so i didnt have to rewire

here are the logs i took earlier today

i am running 1000cc injectors at -55% global and 480 for deadtime per the ecmlink chart for my delphi injectors and as I said before I have hks 272 cams and a hx35 turbo.

Attachments

• log.2012.09.24-01.elg
    28.9 KB · Views: 126
  • log.2012.09.24-02.elg
    40.2 KB · Views: 73
Last edited by a moderator:
If wired correctly (car runs) it doesnt' matter which type of 1g CAS you use, they both put out a square wave signal of the same pattern, both interpreted as a hall effect/optical (which one is of each type, green top being optical and my favorite now days)