The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

cold air intake

Please Support Rix Racing

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1g-90-newbie

10+ Year Contributor
Dec 30, 2009
madison, Virginia
i have a 90 1g n/t 4g63 engine i want to put a cold air intake on but dont know how to bypass the maf sensor. when i unhook the maf sensor it kills my engine. im new to dsm but very interested!

The Best Mods I've seen for our 1G's is do the Open Air Can Mod, and get nice Air Filter like K&N, then buy a Hard Intake Pipe.

TIP: If you wanna save yourself some money, Lowes +\or Home Depot sells Rubber\Poly Couplings much like the ones you get with IC Piping or intake kits, or like the ones you see in auto stores that cost 8$ each, but these cost cost 2-4$ Each, and hold up just as well if not better.

will the k&n filter fit over the sensor? what about a throttlebody spacer will that help?

I Don't think that would do anything, but K&N makes specific Filters for our cars, I had one on my old N\T Talon.

Another thing you can do if your looking for better intake is Custom Intake manifold and or Throttle body, or if you cant afford it at least port your Throttle Body.

I would agree with above and build your own CAI. You can get aluminum piping off some vendors on here (road race engineering) and build your own they way you see fit. There are 2 types of porting for the TB, there is just porting the inlet and outlet to gasket match or do a full bore port and utilize a larger butterfly plate. I don't think the gains on porting the TB would be too beneficial to you right now but I'm also not running a N/T DSM.