The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

Spray Paint job

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BassDrop

Probationary Member
Sep 8, 2011
Indianapolis, Indiana
I have seen a lot of people talking about spray painting their car but no threads about how to do it. I'm trying to get a cheap paint job done but paying to have it professionally done is too much. I would like to do the prep and paint myself but i have never done it before. So what are the steps to go about prepping and spray painting my car and should i just get a spray gun or will spray paint be alright?

Spray painting from a rattle can is gonna look bad , only color you might be able to pull it off is white and flat black. I did it on my old 1g talon, i have a pic in my gallery.i sprayed it glossy black and it looked better than how it was. If you want to paint it on the cheap, napa sells paint and some spray guns and with compressor you cant paint it yourself. Will it last? Probably not for long but it will do for a while. Just prep it really good and take off the moldings and it should come out decent.

My roof was getting bad and the rest of the car still had a shine so I taped everything off, sanded for a good while, then applied like 6 coats of spray paint; gloss black. It actually looked OK and the gloss matched the car. (another one of the advantages of a black car, it's easy to color match) Can't remember if I bothered to clear coat. Anyway, that lasted about 5 years in the sun, it's just as bad as the rest of the car again, I guess.