1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

2G Newbie needs engine ID info

Posted by Ricki, Jun 30, 2020 at 11:10 PM

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support Rix Racing
  1. Ricki

Ricki Probationary Member

Joined Jun 19, 2020
    Paramount, California
    I have a 1999 GST Eclipse that had an engine swap with a 199-. I know for sure it was a first gen engine swap. How would I know what year engine it is and what is the major differences in 1st gen engines (turbo) . Sorry if this sounds way to vague; I love my car but I am a super newbie

2. JeffGS-T97

JeffGS-T97 Proven Member

Joined Mar 22, 2019
    Greenbo, Alabama
    1st gen has a six bolt main, the throttle body ID is a bit bigger and the coolant lines going to it are positioned at different agles. The wire harness on a 90 & 91 have different wire harnesses than 92-94 but not by much a few wires are reversed on some of the connectors. 1st gens have less hp, but the 1g shell was lighter. The 6 bolt main has a smaller chance of crank walk than the 2g 7bolt. In a nutshell the 1g motor is more durable. I got my throttle body off a 1g and had it bored along with a ported polished intake manifold i also did a 6bolt main swap from a 1g too. Heres some more stuff to help you determinehttps://my.prostreetonline.com/2014/09/30/differences-1g-2g-dsm/

https://my.prostreetonline.com/2014/09/30/differences-1g-2g-dsm/

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2020 at 7:45 AM

Street Build 1K  0

1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GST
    manual · 2G DSM
  3. spyderdrifter

spyderdrifter Freelancer

Joined Jul 11, 2009
    Fountain, Colorado