1. Join the Community!

    DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

ECMlink Need help diagnosing

Posted by SwanneeShane, May 28, 2020

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
  1. SwanneeShane

    SwanneeShane Probationary Member

    3
    1
    Joined May 28, 2020
    Lombard, Illinois
    I recently had my Galant VR4 tuned on speed density, installed new FIC 1220's injectors, and installed MTXL Innovate Wideband gauge and a OMNI 4 bar, its tuned on pump gas at the moment (Switching to E85 soon). Now after I get the car warmed up the car seems to drive good, but after about 2 blocks away after leaving my parking lot the car seems to act funky, the idle drops, and my wideband gauge goes to 22.5 then says E8, my fuel trims seem to go way positive.


    I will post my most recent Logs from my DSM Link.

    If someone could please chime in, Ive sent my logs to my tuner who tuned my car and hes saying to get a AEM wideband. any help whould be great. thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Can’t look at the log now. Are you simulating narrowband? Try calibrating the wideband.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
  3. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    You haven't set your pin assignments.
    Under ECU inputs
    -Set Baro to Omni 4 Bar
    -If you have IAT sensor, tell it which one you're using
    -If you wired wideband output to ecu, tell it which one you've wired it to
    http://www.ecmtuning.com/wiki/lc1install#ecu_wires
    -If you have wideband in the front location, change that as well.

    Once you're done, go to edit on top. Capture then display, your WB, WBFactor, omni4bar, IAT, SDairflowperrev.

    Screen shot of mine for example
    upload_2020-5-29_6-54-55.png

    Under RPM tab, set Coasting FC offset to 150. Your set rpm 1050 - 900 = 150

    Set your tps to .63 volts, it's at .65 now
    With the car fully warmed up and everything off, adjust the BISS screw SLOWLY until iscposition is around 30. Fan will turn on and off, so you want that at 30 when fan is off.

    Error 8 Sensor
    Sensor is damaged
    1. Perform sensor calibration.
    2. Move sensor bung as far downstream as possible.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
    1990TSIAWDTALON and Vegas smith like this.
  4. Vegas Smith

    Vegas Smith Proven Member

    3,948
    1,759
    Joined Dec 2, 2002
    Houston, Texas
    1) How is it that these posts keep coming in with cars tunes by tuners but the damn basic setup isn't even done? Follow his directions to setup pin assignments^^
    2) My guess is that bosch sensor went bad. They're very finicky and can easily die if you put them in the wrong conditions. An AEM will not make it any better in my opinion as they use the same bosch wb sensor.
     

    Street Build 4K  3

    1993 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    awd · manual · 1G DSM
    Loading...
    1990TSIAWDTALON and TK's9d2TSi like this.
  5. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Make sure you have no boost leak, timing is set to 5* btdc and fuel pressure is set correctly.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
    1990TSIAWDTALON likes this.
  6. SwanneeShane

    SwanneeShane Probationary Member

    3
    1
    Joined May 28, 2020
    Lombard, Illinois
    I re-calibrated the wideband sensor and the car drives great now. I havent messed with the DSM Link yet, this weekend I will set up the PIN assignments, My O2 sensor is on the O2 housing just after the manifold, I have another spot just before the down pipe ends, would you recommend me switching the O2 sensor to the farthest spot away from Manifold? TK's9d2tsi Thanks for all your input man I really appreciate it.
     
    TK's9d2TSi likes this.
  7. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    My pleasure man and glad she’s running. I personally have the wideband about 3-4 feet away from the o2 housing. I like the spot since it’s easily accessible.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
  8. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I’d leave the front oxygen sensor on the O2 housing.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
  9. SwanneeShane

    SwanneeShane Probationary Member

    3
    1
    Joined May 28, 2020
    Lombard, Illinois
    I only have my wideband sensor in the O2 housing, i dont have the stock O2 sensor at all its just the Wideband sensor, should i get that O2 sensor and put that in the O2 housing spot and then put my wideband senor in the spot on my downpipe just before it ends??? My mechanic set it up like how i have it now..
     
  10. TK's9d2TSi

    TK's9d2TSi Supporting Member

    3,796
    1,396
    Joined Sep 11, 2017
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Some have it that way without an issue. I personally like having two sensor doing their own job but it’s all preference. Just know that if the sensor malfunctions, the same thing will happen. If you have both sensors and the wb takes a dump, it’ll run fine. Just won’t know your afr’s.
     

    450  3

    2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport - Classic
    awd · automatic · Misc Vehicles

    506  4

    93 Civic 4 Door -sold-
    fwd · manual · Misc Vehicles

    Street Build 3K  6

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    12.2 @ 120 · 1G DSM
    Loading...
  11. jed344

    jed344 Supporting VIP

    910
    131
    Joined Jan 10, 2008
    Waterville, Iowa
    The SD table looks like it needs some smoothing. Not sure why the min octane table has higher target timing then the max octane around 4,500rpm...
     

    1K  38

    1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
    awd · manual · 2G DSM
    Loading...

Share This Page

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Boosted Fabrication ECM Tuning ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions JNZ Tuning Kiggly Racing Morrison Fabrications OHM Racing Raven Fabrication RixRacing RockAuto SouthBay Fuel Injectors STM Tuned Track Decals Track Sculptures VR Speed Factory