The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

loud exhaust

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buzzardtalon

Probationary Member
Jul 9, 2013
fort white, Florida
why is my car so quite?? it has no cat and no muffler yet its still so quite??? how can i get some sound out of this thing without going to an open dp LOL

How loud and whats on it now pick up nice muffler lots to pick from, or a aftermarket one there easy to find, no need for a open dp and, do you want people to hear you coming?

LOL i want it loud but not retarded loud LOL im a cop so i cant be breaking to many laws...but right now it had all stock tubing but the cat is gutted and the muffler was replaced with stight pipe and 3.5in tip out the rear.....and its very quite i know this is due to the turbo but why are evos and other turbo cars so much louder??

I don't like being loud. But with my setup only way not be be loud is if I put my cat back on or get a cutout. It's not going to be really loud at idle. But have to drive it with an open dump?

I found that the smaller the exhaust piping the louder for some reason. On my automatic, I had stock piping catless and no resonators to a 3" autozone poop can and it would vibrate your clothes if you stood within 2 feet of the car, on my 5-speed it was catless and resonator less 3" piping from turbo back to 4" poop can (unknown brand) but it was so much quiter, but had a better tone. I honestly LOVE how these cars sound with no muffler on them, it just gets annoying on a 7 hour one-way drive (done it)

Really loud= external wastegate with atmosphere dump+3" turbo back exhaust.

Loud= 3" turbo back exhaust