1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

2G Is this block a bust?

Posted by Audiyo, Oct 23, 2019

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI
  1. Audiyo

Audiyo Supporting Member

Joined Jul 22, 2013
    Imperial, Missouri
    I started tearing down my block this past weekend, cleaning threads, pulling and marking parts, cleaning surfaces and generally getting it ready for the machine shop. Tonight I went down and started looking over the block, mainly around the oil galleries and I noticed a chip in one of the galleries cast. I am fairly new to these builds so I am not sure if this is something that renders this block unusable or if its OK, can anyone with more experience tell me if this block is OK or not? Or what potential issues this chip may cause? I want to make sure before I go any further with my prep work and time/money. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

Street Build 196  1

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GST
    fwd · automatic · 2G DSM
  2. motomattx

motomattx Proven Member

Joined Dec 9, 2010
    wampum, Pennsylvania
    It wouldn't take much to have your machine shop weld that area in and then throw it on the mill to mill that area flat, that's what I would do.

Drag Race Build 3K  24

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GST
    fwd · manual · 2G DSM
    Hickory-NC-2Ggsx likes this.
  3. d1prospect

d1prospect Proven Member

Joined Mar 14, 2004
    Glen Bunie, Maryland
    The gasket surface touches there tho so they drop that passage down gasket won’t touch. Potential leak, since they'll be more volume just dumping. I’d grab your gasket and look. I could be tho. I’m not a machinist :idontknow::idontknow: