The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

how to choose torque converter

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbwu1f

10+ Year Contributor
Feb 27, 2009
West Palm Beach, Florida
I'm planning on getting my stock converter re-stall so I'll be able to launch better. Just need to know how to choose an point were it should stall out. I'll will be using an HX-35 and my auto tranny already has new end clutches and a shift kit. Thanks

To better answer your question, whats the Garrett or Precision equivalent of an HX-35 ?

There is alot debate on this topic. I'm pretty new to auto dsms and have been doing alot of reading up on it. IPT has gotten a little over 4k stall on their restalled stockers. Is this going to be a daily driver or a track/weekend car?

I believe the HX-35 is around a GT30? Not too sure about that but I do plan on sending my torque converter to IPT. I was thinking about a 4K re-stall but again I'm not a auto kind of guy. This will be for an DD/track.

Have you tried brake boosting your car with the stock one yet ? Some stock ones are better than others..
I have used an IPT and am now using a Hughes re-stall..The IPT was perfect for my Evo III 16g and it didn't heat up my fluid any more than the stocker did..My Hughes is for bigger turbos and DOES heat my fluid more....I would recommend the Hughes for turbos smaller than a 35R...For a 35R and larger, some juice is needed on the line, IMHO....
This is relevant to a 1g only. The 2gs have the Precision billet option also...