The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

Does this seem normal?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tay97gst

10+ Year Contributor
Dec 20, 2011
Plaistow, New_Hampshire
Alright so I hope i don't come out as a total noob by asking this question, but i feel its important to know if my car is running properly. I'm not really sure how to state this but i'll do my best.
Does it make sense that when I'm driving normal, (as in shifting at like 4k or sooner, accelerating at a normal speed, just not driving overly fast), that my car doesnt make boost. It spikes up to like 0 from 20hg it just doesnt really make boost under normal driving conditions. However when i do actual to the pedal to the floor it boosts up to 15lbs and acts like a turbo should. I'm just not sure if the normal driving conditions should be like that or not.
I know i do have a boost leak somewhere behind or in the throttle body and also have an exhaust leak around the manifold area so i'm not sure if thats whats causing it or if its actually normal. Sorry if i sound dumb but i figured i'd try and ask.
Thanks for any input. :dsm:

If you are running a stock turbo, your boost will come on, even with the pedal to the floor around 1800 or so with no boost leaks. Turbos do not make boost unless the engine is under a load and will not make power until it starts seeing positive boost along with the power curve of your engine.

Under moderate acceleration, it will go in and out of boost but, only slightly as the power needed is very little since you will have some power, even with no boost or 0 boost at higher rpms just as you would in an NA car.