The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Rix Racing

Devin Schultz's 2g gets wreaked at drag strip

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DSMboostinawd

Probationary Member
Mar 15, 2008
Mundelein, Illinois
My name is Devin Schultz, I'm a tech and tuner for Strictly Modified. We do mostly turbo cars with our emphasis being Mitsubishi vehicles.

I went to US 41 on Sunday October 11 in hopes of a 9.1-9.2 second quarter mile pass. My best pass to date was 9.37. I was able to tie my best pass with a 9.37 and was on my way to a 9.20 until the car in the next lane lost control, came into my lane and t-boned me just as I shifted 3rd. I have no idea how I kept it out of the wall, the car came to a stop facing the starting line in the opposite lane about 1 foot from the wall.

First thing I want to say is that I'm 100% OK, the car however is not!!!

I understand the risks that I take when drag racing, and trust me I'm dealing with that right now. What's important is that both drivers walked away from this, but what bothers me is the lack of respect and attitude that I received from a fellow racer. After the shit went down he said to me, "My shits a classic and you can find one of those anywhere!" WTF!!! I found out later that night he told my fiancé to "f**k off".

After looking at the video its pretty clear to me. He broke a driver side axle, which sent him into my lane. I'm Ok with that, but what I'm not OK with is the fact that he NEVER LIFTED. If he would have LIFTED things might be different. He also never tried to counter steer out of the slide, his wheels stayed straight the whole time. Did he mash it to the floor then closed his eyes?