The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

ECMlink Critique idle/small cruise log

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twinturbo120

10+ Year Contributor
Aug 14, 2010
Miami, Florida
Hi guys, I've been doing a lot of reading and watching a bunch of yt videos on how to get this car running properly.
I would say I'm pretty close, considering I've never done this before. I went around the neighborhood a couple of times and idled towards the end of the log.

I noticed the car leans out a lot when the turbo starts spooling up, and it feels like I hit a wall around 4k. I have done a bunch of blt's, fixed all of them, verified timing and base fuel pressure (which I had wrong which is why I could never get the STFT to line up in idle before, but that's another story LOL).

Let me know what I can do, I've been working hard to get this doneeeee

1). Any boost, vac, or exhaust leaks?

No
Boost leak tested 5psi above your max boost with no leaks?
Yes

2). Verified mechanical timing?
Yes

3). Verified base timing?
Yes

4). Ignition system
COP or Stock Coil: Stock
Wire brand and Age: NGK/3 year
Spark Plug brand, type and Gap: NGK-BR7ES/.022

5). Motor health (Compression Test)
Cylinder 1: 190
Cylinder 2: 191
Cylinder 3: 188
Cylinder 4: 191

6). Performed basic throttle body adjustments?

Idle Switch: Yes
Throttle Cable: Yes
TPS: Yes
BISS: Yes

7). Compression ratio
8.7:1

8). Any known bad sensors or brittle wiring?
No

9). Any DTC/CEL codes?
No

10). Electrical system
Car off (not running): 12.4 volts
Car running: 13.2 volts (passenger fan on)

11). Base fuel pressure and injector values
Base Fuel Pressure: 45.0
Injector Size (cc/min): 2200cc