The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support Rix Racing

1G Clutch Wear

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thejollyrancher

10+ Year Contributor
Mar 31, 2012
calgary, AB_Canada
Hey guys,

I'm going about changing my first clutch! I have a 1g Talon awd and I am looking to install a stage4 competition clutch I have. I have never done those before so I'm wondering what a worn clutch looks like. How much wear has this clutch and pressure plate seen? Can you tell?

Attachments

• 20140402_221108.jpg
    20140402_221108.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 74
  • 20140402_215712.jpg
    20140402_215712.jpg
    47.7 KB · Views: 62
  • 20140402_215809.jpg
    20140402_215809.jpg
    30.8 KB · Views: 68
  • 20140402_215839.jpg
    20140402_215839.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 79
  • 20140402_215848.jpg
    20140402_215848.jpg
    72.2 KB · Views: 65
Last edited:
I was told it had around 5000km without any launching

How much life can I expect out of this? I know that depends on a lot of factors, But I just want a basic idea based on my mod list and the fact that I'll be daily driving mostly with a couple launches every so often. I don't want to have to change the clutch a few thousand km down the road again

You already have the clutch out. Why not just change it anyway? As for the pressure plate surface, inspect it like a brake rotor. If it's uneven or rough with ridges, change it.