The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

4G64 SOHC 8V Crank Trigger setup needed!

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyle Koch

Probationary Member
Apr 2, 2019
Bossier City, Louisiana
Hello... Newbie here so I am posting in the newb section.

I have a 94 model Mighty Max with the SOHC 8-Valve 4g64. I am learning how to do custom setups and I want to make this engine work before I get into bigger more expensive things in the future.

I am needing a dampener with Crank trigger wheel built in or a bolt on trigger wheel that will work with the stock dampener already on the engine.

For those who are curious or want to know:
I have setup a Haltech Elite 550 in the truck. I have tried using the signals from the stock electronic distributor but am running in to a problem that I believe a crank trigger setup will fix. The problem Is that I can get number 1 and number 4 to spark fire at 0 and 360 degrees however 3 & 2 look like they are firing at 200+ degrees and 550+ degrees respectively. Thus I only have 2 cylinders firing correctly. I am no expert and this could be WAY wrong however the fact remains my engine will not run properly. I did set up a custom Single-Tooth-Home on the camshaft so I will have sequential control later.

Any thoughts, comments or questions welcome. I want to learn this the right way so I don't make expensive bangs in the future. Thanks in advance!

Kyle Koch

I am really sad that after 20+ days no one has chimed in. I was really hoping someone might have some knowledge they would share with me on this.