The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

need help fast, buyin an out of state car

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crazy E

15+ Year Contributor
Sep 1, 2003
Syracuse, New_York
alright, so Im a new york state resident and there is a car for sale in Maryland that I want to buy. The thing is, I have no way of getting it back up here. I really wanted to drive it back up, but both DMVs are being complete @$$ holes.

What can I do? I cant afford to have it shipped and I was making the drive down tongiht my friend lives down there and is going home!

I gotta act fast! OMG

im thinkn about taking one of the plates off my eclipse and putting it on this car to drive it back up, but thats crazy and i dont want to go to jail, LOL

well....call your insurance and see if they'll give u a Temp Insurance card for the car...just give them the VIN...tell them your gonna buy it but you have to go get it. I drove my new car off the lot with Just a Temp Tag...No inspection sticker no insurance no registartion. In jersey if you bought a new car and get pulled over you have a grace period. I think the Dealer is Liable I'm not entirely sure. Anyway I called my insurance to drop my one car and add my Eclipse and they sent me a Temporary Insuarnce card until the dealer got everythign registred. And don't break the law when you drive it back and you'll be fine...Cops can't bother you if your being Good.