The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

2G Maintenance on my new DSM.

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheDude236

Proven Member
Mar 15, 2021
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Hey all! I am a newbie on these forums, and also new under the car. Got my first DSM (a ‘95 Talon AWD 5-speed) being shipped here at the moment, so I’m tying to collect as much info about maintenance as I can so I know what to work on when it gets here.
To my knowledge, seals and hoses have been replaced, but, I’m not sure if any of the fluids have been changed. Been reading a lot of the forums about what I assume is Transmission fluid, but also some people are talking about different synchromeshes, and even ATF or something?
Anyways, its a bit overwhelming/confusing to me, so I just need to know which oils are which, and which ones to put in my car. (Yes I did read a majority of the articles on the newbie page, but they weren’t super explanatory, and I’m also a bit dumb).
Thanks all!

(Also, the car has 200k miles on it. That might be helpful to some of you)

Last edited by a moderator:
At that mileage, it is DEFINITELY timing belt and water pump time. Its not the "fun" stuff, but it will keep your car running much longer. They are supposed to be changed at 60k intervals to avoid failure and killing all of the valves in the head.
I bought a 1990 GSX with over 200000 and the kid NEW it needed it but couldn't do it so he sold it to me and I did the job. She is one very very dependable DSM, and some say that is hard to say. I am sooo happy that is done and behind me for many miles of carefree driving.