The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

jdm transmission final drive

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

97redgsx

15+ Year Contributor
Nov 8, 2006
Medford, Massachusetts
can i use a jdm 2G tranny with a USDM 2g transfer case and rear diff? i found a JDM tranny for pretty cheap and i was wondering if there would be final drive issues, and if they were different if i could just swap some parts around from my old tranny to change the final drive(i am a decent mechanic, i am in an associates program now). or if i could locate a cheap JDM rear diff as the tranny im looking at has a transfere case included.... any thoughts? thanks!

it is a 95 and it doesn't give me very many details about it, all it says is "95-98 dsm awd 5-speed tranny"

edit* it also says "eclipse talon" so i guess its from an eclipse

Well, there's no JDM Eclipse or Talon, and there's no JDM transmission made from 95-98 that will fit your car. I would contact them and find out what vehicle it came from. Most likely it's from an Evo 3.

assuming that it is from an evo 3 what would the problems be at that point

**note** i will find out exactally what its from tommorrow when they open

ok i called the company they told me it was from an evo 3 and that he was "pretty sure" it will work for my car... he said others have bought it with no complaint...i still dont have a difinative answer please anybody who knows let me know i need my car back i am riding a f**&&% bike to work....

If it is an Evo 3 gearbox, then no, you cannot use it with the US rear diff.

To use it you have three options:

1. Pull the gearset out of the Evo gearbox and install it in an US gearbox,