The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

high oil pressure and BS ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bd91talontsi

Probationary Member
Jun 20, 2007
Blacksburg, Virginia
ok so I'm fairly new to the dsm world and have a question
I was having trouble with high oil pressure and couldn't find the problem it had me perplexed then I went outside the other day and saw a belt hanging down outta the car!!! upon closer examination it turns out the balance shaft belt had broke, from the research I have done I think that is the cause of my high oil pressure, and I have no clue how long I have been driving around with the belt broken!!

ust want to know if driving with a broken BS belt could have caused any engine damage? or if I can chill and not worry about possible damage being caused to my engine!!!

from what I could find here about it It seems it wouldn't cause any damage just make the engine run a little roughly but still want to be 100% sure, any feedback will be greatly appreciated

thanks

Just an elimination kit won't necessarily help though. If you do the elim, you will also need to "port" the oil filter housing relief valve area. Mine is still a bit high but not anywhere near I've read some people get after a BS elim.

Good luck!

PS, I have prothane motor mounts all around and no BS's and my car isn't that bad at all. My friends 327 makes A LOT more vibration and he's on stock mounts. It's also a DD and even my female friends don't mind it!