1. Join the Community!

    DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

1G Dual Fuel Rail '92 Talon TSI hx35 Holset build

Posted by nix4, Feb 11, 2015

Please Support Feal Suspension
Please Support STM Tuned
  1. nix4

    nix4 Probationary Member

    7
    0
    Joined Oct 15, 2013
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Greetings all,

    This is my first post to the forums, so be gentle!

    Anyway, I've completed my 92 eagle talon tsi build as of yesterday and have reached 315hp using an holset hx35 turbo build (which is low btw, because the tuner didn't want to risk my transmission breaking, so I plan on installing a rebuilt transmission in a few months and retuning to the goal hp of 400-450).

    Anyway, the car currently idles rough and dosnt like being slow or stopped. The tuner tried to smooth the idle but due to the fact that I have 2000cc FIC injectors its really hard to tune at low rpms.

    My plan was to setup a dual profile on my ECMLink (currently it runs on e85, but wanted a Priemum fuel profile so I could fill the tank with either fuel and switch profiles)....

    From what I understand big injectors are good for e85, but not so good for low rpms (which is why I stall or idle rough at lights). If I want premium fuel, then this will be another issue as well.

    SO If I got dual fuel rails...one set at say 850cc and kept my existing 2000cc and had the 850cc's mapped to premium fuel profile, and kept the 2000cc for e85.... Is this possible? If so, this could give me the option of running regular gas, and having a smooth idle..but then if I wanted to flush out the tank and fill with e85..I could change ECMLink profiles and utilize the bigger injectors??

    Thanks for reading this far!!
     
  2. rvaughn

    rvaughn Proven Member

    164
    23
    Joined Apr 29, 2008
    Portland, Oregon
    Welcome. I am unfamiliar with the FIC 2000's but I am running the 2150s with flex fuel sensor on ECMLink and can say that this solution works quite well on my setup, I idle without a hiccup at 1000 rpm. I would suggest looking into getting the flex fuel sensor if you want dual maps and as far as tuning the injectors, decide if you want to fight with them to get them fine tuned to idle appropriately or switch to a Hi-Z injector like the 1650's or 2150's.

    Here is a good place to start: http://www.ecmtuning.com/wiki/ethanolsensorparts?s[]=flex&s[]=fuel
     
  3. nix4

    nix4 Probationary Member

    7
    0
    Joined Oct 15, 2013
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Thanks! thats exactly what I was looking for.
     
  4. tmoney20g

    tmoney20g Proven Member

    613
    216
    Joined Apr 16, 2014
    hammonton, New Jersey
    I like your idea, but how would you switch between fuel rails ? Some sort of Y-fitting after the filter with a shut-off valve to each fuel rail ?
     

    Street Build 3K  0

    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD
    manual · 1G DSM
    Loading...
  5. nix4

    nix4 Probationary Member

    7
    0
    Joined Oct 15, 2013
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    I wasn't sure, which is why I posted... I thought that as long as the tank was flush with e85 or premium that maybe there would be a device that could route the gas based upon what setting is ON in ECMLink.

    So if the dash switch is set to e85, it would send fuel to one rail...etc

    Sounds like the flex fuel sensor mentioned above removes the need to manually tell ECMLink what map to use...so then its a matter compramising on injectors that give you both smooth idle with premium but can also give you enough cc's for the e85 horses...
     
  6. rvaughn

    rvaughn Proven Member

    164
    23
    Joined Apr 29, 2008
    Portland, Oregon
    You can find all the parts you need to install the flex sensor and make it work with your ECMLink on their website including the wire harness. I think you will find it alot easier to work with a flex tune using the sensor although you can also use one of the inputs on the ecu to map switch if you dont want to spend as much money. I have done both and can say Ill never go back after installing the flex sensor.
     
  7. rvaughn

    rvaughn Proven Member

    164
    23
    Joined Apr 29, 2008
    Portland, Oregon
    You hit the nail on the head in post #5 OP.
     

Share This Page

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Archer Fabrication ECM Tuning ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions JNZ Tuning Kiggly Racing Morrison Fabrications OHM Racing RixRacing RockAuto SouthBay Fuel Injectors STM Tuned Track Decals Track Sculptures VR Speed Factory WheelWell.com