The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support STM Tuned

Boost Leak?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Livid

15+ Year Contributor
Feb 8, 2005
Granville, New_York
I've been running 8 psi on my 420a built motor for about 2 months. I have a stock exhaust at the moment so I didn't want to go higher yet. Lately I've been noticing that I can hear the turbo spooling a lot more clearly than I used to be able to, nothing sounds as tight. It sounds like my exhaust is leaking up near where it connects to the downpipe, but I'm not sure if an exhaust leak would cause this sound or not. It just sounds like a loud spool (high pitched whoosh sound). I guess my only solution is to install the 3" exhaust I was planning on getting and seeing if that fixes the problem? I'm just scared to damage by turbo between now and then. Any suggestions?

Exhaust is a must, fix that first and with a built motor put a highflow cat or test pipe in there immediately if you want to really let your car breathe.
When your boosting, is your car holding boost at 8psi constantly? is it spiking or anything?

Exahust should have been the very first upgrade if you planned on going turbo, because your really killing the turbo heat wise. So fix that asap.

Livid said: