1. Join the Community!

DSMtuners is a massive archive of DSM information - but more importantly, it's a COMMUNITY! Join in and participate with other DSMers, and invite all of your DSM friends to make this place their home. Chat with others, create a build thread, post questions and answers. Get involved! Logging in will also remove many of the advertisements, along with this notice. ;)

96 GSX starter problem / noise / no catch / no start

Posted by Dutchs96GSX, May 19, 2014

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
  1. Dutchs96GSX

Dutchs96GSX Probationary Member

Joined May 19, 2014
    Haines City, Florida
    ok so im new to this side of things and i understand i have a car that has some potential to be pretty bad ass.... a friend hooked me up with the score of the century. 96 gsx automatic..lots of new shiny parts under the hood..looks to be expensive..so quick rundown on whats happening.. turn the key hear this LOUD SCREECH, sometimes it turns the motor over, sometimes it doesn't. Common sense tells me that the flywheel or starter are not catching properly.i dont know any of the cars history, nor can i get it since the previous owner passed away. I see that the torque convertor / flywheel has been replaced and the car ran when that was done. no idea after that...got the starter to catch and the car ran great. shut it off and the starter wouldnt engage. I also noticed that the torque converter / flywheel seemed like it was pretty tight against the starter plate. I plan on pulling the starter plate out when i drop the trans to check everything out. the ideal option for me would be to replace the torque convertor/ starter plate/ starter....but im financially challenged at the moment. so if someone who had no knowledge just started swapping parts out when the car went down i would have to make sure i had the right parts to get this thing running right again. The flywheel for an AWD is the smaller one i believe, and the starter