The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

96 GSX starter problem / noise / no catch / no start

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dutchs96GSX

Probationary Member
May 19, 2014
Haines City, Florida
ok so im new to this side of things and i understand i have a car that has some potential to be pretty bad ass.... a friend hooked me up with the score of the century. 96 gsx automatic..lots of new shiny parts under the hood..looks to be expensive..so quick rundown on whats happening.. turn the key hear this LOUD SCREECH, sometimes it turns the motor over, sometimes it doesn't. Common sense tells me that the flywheel or starter are not catching properly.i dont know any of the cars history, nor can i get it since the previous owner passed away. I see that the torque convertor / flywheel has been replaced and the car ran when that was done. no idea after that...got the starter to catch and the car ran great. shut it off and the starter wouldnt engage. I also noticed that the torque converter / flywheel seemed like it was pretty tight against the starter plate. I plan on pulling the starter plate out when i drop the trans to check everything out. the ideal option for me would be to replace the torque convertor/ starter plate/ starter....but im financially challenged at the moment. so if someone who had no knowledge just started swapping parts out when the car went down i would have to make sure i had the right parts to get this thing running right again. The flywheel for an AWD is the smaller one i believe, and the starter as well..but the part thats confusing me is the plate. tryin to get this corrected as quick as possible as this car is going