The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

420A wastegate actuator?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mkspriggs

15+ Year Contributor
May 21, 2004
clovis, New_Mexico
hey guys as alot of people know i am new to the turbo scene. i just got done converting mine to turbo and i am now going over everything making sure it works correctly

one thing doesnt really seem right is the way the wastgate and actuator are working or not working i know the actuator is good but i do not see it moving at all while reving.

my question is this at what rpm is a 14b suppose to actuate? i have raised mine to about 6,000 and have seen no movement of the wastgate actuator arm, also my bov is barely opening, i have a turboxs type h and it is only opening maybe 1/8 in.

any help would be great guys.

mkspriggs said:
one thing doesnt really seem right is the way the wastgate and actuator are working or not working i know the actuator is good but i do not see it moving at all while reving.
Stock 14b actuator is rated 8-12psi and it's activated by pressure not rpm, unless you can build 8+psi free reving in neutral, the actuator shouldn't move. Stop trying to blow off in nuetral, free reving to 6k+ rpm is bad for your motor.

Yeai wasnt really worried about the bov since i was in neutral, but i thought the actuator should be moving alittle, I just diddnt want it to ruin with it not opening. And i dont usually rev in neutral like that but i was trying to see if it would open. Thank you very much for your help

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community