The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support STM Tuned

2G Transfer case rebuild questions

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ty1975

Proven Member
Jul 30, 2021
Rexburg, Idaho
I don’t see a lot of info on people rebuilding transfer cases. Seems everyone wants to go the route of getting a used one. But they are getting more hard to find and I was able to get all new seals and bearings. I am not a pro but like doing things my own and if this can help anyone else then awesome. I am aware of needing proper preloads and gear contact.

My question is this, all the bearings are straightforward to replace except the forward bearing on the shaft to the driveline. It looks as though there is a tapered collar pressed in and sandwiched between the forward bearing and rear. Can someone confirm this?

It looks like that tapered collar has to be separated and pressed off to replace that bearing. Just to be sure it is the bearing right up against the gear on the output shaft of the transfer case, not the carrier that attaches to the output shaft on the tranny. I have a press and have rebuilt transmissions before but that bearing is a little hairy to get off.

Last edited by a moderator:
Third party manuals are good for more routine tasks that the FSM glosses over, like oil changes and pad and rotor replacement, and have photos which the FSM does not. But for detailed jobs like trans and tcase rebuilds you need the FSM.

I got it all rebuilt, thanks to everyone for the help.