The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Third gear pull tuning advice PLEASE

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muleunit

10+ Year Contributor
Apr 2, 2009
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Im new to the tuning game. My wideband is reading that I'm running rich with an AFR of 9.6-9.9 during WOT. Can I lean it out and gain some more power? :cool:

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

Last edited by a moderator:
Like I said in the thread about tuning your SD, you are running out of injector at 5.5k RPM. Look at your datalog and find your InjDuty and follow it as you track across the 3rd gear pull you did. Anything over 80% your injectors are working out of their efficiency range. At 100% that means the ECU is no longer opening and closing your injectors, they are open 100% of the time spraying fuel into the cylinders. You can definitely lean things a bit using your fuel sliders or your OpenLoopMaxOct DA table, I suggest using DA since your running SD. Remember that formula I posted in your other thread to get your AFR numbers to match your DA? By running a leaner AFR you'll get some of your injector back but I HIGHLY suggest turning the boost down to 15psi until you get the car tuned, then turn up the boost making minor adjustments as you go.
Use the below AFR's to tune for depending on the type of fuel your running, just remember every car is different.
91 octane - 10.5~10.8:1
93 octane - 10.8~11.1:1
E85 - 11.8~12.1:1​