The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Rix Racing

Info on road racing?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fourgsixthree33

10+ Year Contributor
Oct 25, 2010
Athens, Pennsylvania
I want to get into road racing with a dsm. I plan to build a dsm just for that purpose. Thing is, i am a total newb to this and know nothing about it. I would like to do something similar to what RRE does. Not auto cross! High speeds, on a road coarse, with other cars. Not time attack stuff.

How do i start? I need as much info as i can get. I live in PA, near philly and harrisburg. What tracks can i race at? What classes are there?

I have raced dirt modifieds all my life so i am not a newb to racing or setting up a car nor am i a newb to dsms. Thanks in advance for any advice!

The way to get started in road racing is HPDE events from NASA. You don't need to have anything special to run these events. You'll gain knowledge about how to drive and how your car handles.

I'm from the same area (car's in Mechanicsburg and I live in Downingtown) and the closest tracks to us are Summit Point in WV and NJMP in NJ. Other tracks are BeaveRun in Pittsburgh, VIR in VA, the Pocono track, and Watkins Glen in NY.

If you really want to do it competitively, you'll want to download the NASA's CCR as that will have all the rules, classes, etc.

And obviously read as much as you can on here.

Thanks for the quick replys. I forgot to mention i have read the "road racing faq" thread that ludacris made. Very helpful.

I am interested in going to an open track day. Just wasnt sure where to go.

Do you have a link to the NASA CCR download?