The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

Gauge Lights

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gabriel_dsm

Proven Member
Mar 27, 2014
bakersfield, California
im planning to change me stock gauge lights to give them a red glow i just want to know if when i pull out the gauges do i have to take out the panels or anything or jus pull it out and just change the bulbs? can someone explain to me its my first time doing this

A few ways to accomplish this. First is take it apart and clean the back of the gauges up make sure the crap cleans up an gst the orange off (paint thinner) you can remove the lights that are in there and go with leds or use a tinted plastic cover for the color you desire

For plug and play LEDs I'd go with VLEDs. I've got them on my daily driver and love them. Great quality and plenty bright.

Just remove your cluster, take it apart and sand the orange coating off the back of the gauges first.

remove top 2 screws in the trim piece around the gauges. lower the steering wheel and pull it out. there's 4 screws that hold it in. take the out and pull on the gauge cluster. the bulbs are small and they just twist in. not too bad

Just don't buy the ebay LED equivalent of the small bulbs (type 74) as they are too tall to fit in place of the stock ones.

Superbrightleds. Com has the bulbs you want. My buddy just swapped his out and they look great! Hell.. He didn't even sand off the amber film off of the back of the gauge cluster.