The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support JNZ Tuning
Please Support ExtremePSI

From small 16g to e316g?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VTEC KILLR

15+ Year Contributor
Sep 9, 2005
Portsmouth, Ohio
Ok I went from my small 16g(needs a rebuild) to a e316g with 6,000 miles on it. It has no shaft play and the wheels look great. Now for my total newb question.......The e316g makes a whistle/whining sound when spooling up. Compared To all the other turbo cars I've been in that make a whoosh sound when spooling. They guy I got it from I trust, and he said it's done that since the day he got it.

Is this normal?

Ok I went from my small 16g(needs a rebuild) to a e316g with 6,000 miles on it. It has no shaft play and the wheels look great. Now for my total newb question.......The e316g makes a whistle/whining sound when spooling up. Compared To all the other turbo cars I've been in that make a whoosh sound when spooling. They guy I got it from I trust, and he said it's done that since the day he got it.

Is this normal?

i have a 57b trim turbo and it whistles. ive never heard a turbo whoosh, ive heard a bov whoosh but not a turbo. the whistle is from the wheel spinning.

Ok. The blow off valve goes whoosh.... But all the turbo cars I've had never sounded like this. My iPhone doesn't record video and my digital camera is junk. I'll see if I can get a buddy to record the sound. Just sounds different maybe. I don't know.

Ok. The blow off valve goes whoosh.... But all the turbo cars I've had never sounded like this. My iPhone doesn't record video and my digital camera is junk. I'll see if I can get a buddy to record the sound. Just sounds different maybe. I don't know.