The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Morrison Fabrication

Differences between 1G and 2G other than Engine/tranny + Exterior looks?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daemos

Probationary Member
Oct 19, 2005
Winterpeg, Manitoba_Canada
Hey guys

Thought I should introduce my self first

I'm new to the world of DSMs and I'm intrested in picking one up as a project, then once it's done convert it to a daily driver (and sell the spec v)

I'm intrested in the DSMs because of a few things, they are pretty affordable, AWD (lots of snow during the winter, AWD would be REALLY REALLY nice), turbocharged, and they respond very well to modifications of the chassis (handling) and power (Straight line) and if built right seem to be very reliable.

My initial questions are quite simple (and I've searched, but haven't gotten any definite answers)

Other than Exterior looks and going from the 6-bolt to the 7-bolt engine design, is there any other differences (in the chassis) between the 1st gen and 2nd gen DSMs? IE suspension differences (I know 1st gens don't like lowering too much, because they have limited suspension travel, similar to that on my sentra) I've never known anyone that had a 2G. As well the 1G is lighter (and a lot more affordable). The interior looks almost identical (to me) though, so potentially it could be the same chassis (maybe?)

As well what parts from the newer evos bolt on to the engine? (just for information)