The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support STM Tuned

Clutch troubleshooting

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mizak82

10+ Year Contributor
Jul 24, 2010
palm beach, Florida
Hi guy, Sorry Im a noob.. I am getting very frustrated with my act stage 3 clutch on my 6 bolt swap.. Since I bought the car the clutch has always pumped up after a handful of miles..

Initially I thought the crappy brake fluid was expanding too much from the heat, So I bled the system and I put the high temp stuff in.. No change..

I adjusted the clutch just like they do in the jacks transmissions video.. I had a buddy push in the slave as I adjusted the master cylinder rod.. the pedal height adjuster is adjusted almost all the way out, and the master cylinder rod is running out of threads and my buddy still cant push in the slave.. (I feel like Ive tried every position between the 2 adjustments)

When I take out the clevis pin, the slave moves freely, but obviously the clutch doesnt work that way..

Whats my next step in troubleshooting this issue?

Thanks for your help..

I'm kinda of confuse. What's the problem. The slave is not working you mean, bad pressure in the pedal??? Oh! I had my fair share of clutch problems. LOL.

Edit:
Are you saying that your clutch is pumping up higher and higher. If so you need to release some pressure by the master or something. I can't really remember where, I ran into it in my search once or the rre clutch tech.
Here you go! Off rre tech pages...

2G Pedal "Pump Up"