The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Kiggly Racing
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

2G Cant decide on alternator and other parts

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gilly17

Probationary Member
Jul 14, 2021
Clarkston, Michigan
Hey all, I have a 97 eagle talon tsi awd with the 6 bolt swap and my alternator is on the way out. Im trying to find a replacement, and other parts, but I keep seeing so many conflicting answers that I just need to be set straight. This is my first project car let alone my first DSM and I just want the right stuff. Ive seen people say that either a 1g alternator or a 2g one will work fine with my engine but I have also seen people saying they are completely different and arent interchangeable. I just want to know the best place to look and what I should be getting, I don't want anything reman ill get all new stuff and Im not too concerned about price I just want quality parts that fit right. Any other advice about projects is welcome too!

im also looking to get a new ecu im just not sure if I should go with a megasquirt, or if I should go with the dsmlink or a piggyback ecu. Open to any suggestions!

For a direct swap, you'll want another 2G alternator. The 1G and 2G alternators have different electrical connectors. As mentioned, there are higher amp output units as well that require a little more work but still nothing crazy.

For a direct swap, you'll want another 2G alternator. The 1G and 2G alternators have different electrical connectors. As mentioned, there are higher amp output units as well that require a little more work but still nothing crazy.