The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic
Please Support Fuel Injector Clinic

Blue Smoke and Engine Rebuilds

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnonymousCoward

Probationary Member
Jul 16, 2002
Ohio
As far as engines go I'm a novice so if I've gotten a concept wrong, correct me.

My brothers were following me the other day and said they saw blue smoke coming out when I was shifting and such. I find out this is almost 90% of the time going to be worn pistons or piston rings actually. Anywho, I realize you have to have the engine rebuilt to fix this. I'm wondering who here has done that, and for how much? Also has anyone rebuilt with aftermarket/high performance parts and has someone gone all stock? I'd like to hear both sides. Also, I wanna know if it would be possible to add higher compression pistons to increase power if you beefed up the rest (rods an such)? Also, out of curiousity (because I could never afford it) what is the feasibility of overboring the cylanders? If I could get more power out of a naturally aspirated motor I would prefer that, simply because I appreciate the reliability and ease of maintenance.