The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support ExtremePSI

bad battery wiring?

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldmanfrost

10+ Year Contributor
Mar 22, 2009
Tampa, Florida
The car started when I bought it and it ran when we put it on the flat bed... Got it home and all the lights and windows come on, but the engine won't start up at all...... I had the battery checked and charged at advance thinking that will help.. nope not at all..

So I'm wondering can it be the wiring itself that may need to be replaced... This is my very first project car that I'm doing work on myself so help me out... Pic below are the wires

You must be logged in to view this image or video.

Notice the super bad fraying

Had the same problem when I got mine to top it off the guy put a tall + terminal for some sterieo junk and well, now my heat shield on my hood has a burn hole in it and it grounded into the hood. To top it all off the group of wires were barely in the terminal and Had to wiggle all the time to get to start. Now Its all fixed and got the correct terminal and wire installed.

Looks like your missing 1 wire attached.

I had 1 large red one and the 4 med white ones.

okie dokie.... be right back!

ok... here we go... first pic, overall picture of the battery:

second picture... positive cables:

final picture... negative cables:

battery isn't hooked up because i'm working on it and he's not here right now anyway. and those terminals... you gotta reeeeeeeeeally tighten down on those puppies -nods-